Six Governors To Become Members Of National Food Security Council

President Muhammadu Buhari established the National Food Security Council today 16th of March 2018.

The Senior Special-assistant to the President on media and publicity made this announcement in Abuja. According to Mallam Garba Shehu, the council would get inaugurated on 19th of march and would be headed by the President himself. Also, the council is set to have six key members, Governors of Lagos, Kebbi, Delta, Ebonyi, Plateau and Taraba. Other council members would be; Chief of Staff to the President, National Security Officer, Chief of Defence staff, Comptoller-General of the Nigerian Immigration Service, Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Directors-Generals of the Department of State Services, National Intelligence Agency, Secretary to the Federation Government and seven ministers: “The ministers to be represented are for agriculture and rural development; finance; interior; industry, trade and investment; water resources; environment and budget and national planning.’’

Objectives of the council  is to include developing sustainable solutions to herdsmen invasions; climate change and desertification. Also, the council is to appraise the impact of the issues on farmland; grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies; oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta fishing communities and agricultural research institutions and extension services. It will also take interest in regional and global policies and trends that bear implications for food security in Nigeria as well as address the problem of smuggling, piracy and banditry.





Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.